guglbeam.blogg.se

Mercurial windows download
Mercurial windows download




mercurial windows download
  1. #MERCURIAL WINDOWS DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE#
  2. #MERCURIAL WINDOWS DOWNLOAD CODE#
  3. #MERCURIAL WINDOWS DOWNLOAD LICENSE#

I was keen to have it tunnel via SSH, and have all clients authenticate using their own private keys. I decided that having Mercurial run over plan old HTTP would be a bad idea. Hence it won’t come as a surprise to hear that security of this information is very important. Needless to say, the IP that we’re building is something that my employer is rather protective of! And rightly so. If you’re not interested, then go read something else :) So the rest of this post is dedicated to what was involved in getting things set up. My boss, being the legend he is, gave me the thumbs up! Awesome.

#MERCURIAL WINDOWS DOWNLOAD LICENSE#

Not only would it mean that I could just push my local repository to the server and have the entire history transferred (TFS would have been latest version only) but it would save us a substantial cost in license fees, remove the need for VS integration, and everyone could be up and running with a DVCS in no time. So I told him that I thought it might just be easier to get a server running with Mercurial for the version control, and Trac for issue tracking and project “stuff”. I wasn’t really up for that, and neither was my boss. I know I could have called a TFS guru, such as Snagy to pick his brains and perhaps ask him nicely to help out, but he’s a busy man and there’s no guarantee that we wouldn’t have to start again from scratch. We tried installing a few times, tweaking here and there, but we never managed to get it to work. To cut this part of the story short, we had issues getting TFS to work.

mercurial windows download

It also has a shocking effect on the speed of my IDE (I seem to have no choice but to use integration with the IDE, which again isn’t great). The experience I’ve had with it so far hasn’t been great. The original plan was to go with an installation of TFS to handle all of these issues for us. So given the volume of changes and the number of merges that were happening, it was well past time to get something proper in place that we could all use. Those developers weren’t using version control as far as I’m aware.

#MERCURIAL WINDOWS DOWNLOAD CODE#

Sharing and merging code was done by email patches. There are two other people involved in development, and until now most of the work they have been doing has been in a different area to the bits I have been doing. The problem, though, was that this setup was working fine for me as a sole developer, but wasn’t solving the problem for the other developers. It was working quite well and I was pushing all my changes to my NAS box to make sure I had other copies backed up, etc. For the work I am doing at the moment, I was also using hg because the company I am involved with is relatively new and they hadn’t yet sorted out a plan for version control or ALM.

#MERCURIAL WINDOWS DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE#

It was such a pain, in fact, that I have decided to document what I had to do to get it working so that other poor unfortunates will feel less pain if they have to do this themselves.Īlmost regardless of the company and the software I’m working on, I use Mercurial for source code control. It was nothing short of a right royal pain in the butt. I had the need to do this for work recently. Please see the end of the article for any notes/modifications WARNING - This blog post is long :) This post has been edited since it was published.






Mercurial windows download